Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Anathema (Cloud Prophet Trilogy, #1) by Megg Jensen

Anathema (Cloud Prophet Trilogy, #1)Anathema by Megg Jensen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Reychel is a deprived slave to master Kandek, all her life. Deprived, because he refuses to allow her to see the sky or go outside at all. Reychel can't even look out windows! She doesn't question this and follows her life, not wanting her-self or others to be effected by her disobedience.
One day her best friend (who I hate) disappears and leaves her to this personal hell alone and scared, but is she really alone? And will she always be a prisoner? No, she is rescued by her friend only to discover a new world and life, what choices does she make, what roads will she choose and what is her fate!

Reychel is a small, quite, kind and sometimes infuriating girl that has lived her whole life following one rule, never question your master. So obviously when you read this book you expect growth and strength to be ignited in our young main character, and Megg Jensen doesn't let you down. She build the characters dynamics and traits with a true finesse. You watch this young girl grow into a brave young women. The character isn't the only thing growing either, the whole world that is described and made up for you is put forth so well you can see the moments pass. It was awesome and very entertaining to watch.

Over all guys, this book was great. I was enthralled from page one and enjoyed the short story of young Reychel. It was a wonderful break from the normal YA and NA books I've been bringing on. But be forewarned this is very young adult, borderline middle-grade, still worth the read but not as mature as most YA books out there. IT was an intriguing start to the series and I look forward to seeing how it all unravels.

You can also find my review @ http://heaventoearthreviews.blogspot....
**I received this book for an honest review**

View all my reviews

Monday, May 19, 2014

Branded (Sinners, #1) by Abi Ketner, Missy Kalicicki

Branded (Sinners, #1)Branded by Abi Ketner
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

**I received this book for an Honest review**

Holly mother of space ships! This book is deep, dark and gruesome… I love it!
Branded had so many contagious emotions, and I was catching them all. This book was an emotional roller coast for sure, but in a good way (I actually ugly cried), making you truly grateful after you finish it. Not just grateful for the beautiful story but for the fact that you actually came away with true enlightenment. For me it made me appreciate everything I have in my life, and no joke the second I finished this prodigious book I called my Dad and told him how much I love him.

With the crazy beauty comes the scary, gruesome melancholy. You literally can't help but be effected by Branded. The writing is that spectacular. It's magical and fast pace with a magnificent world, you wont be confused by the time, place or events. Everything is elegantly explained, not too much information and not to little. Because of that there are moments, for me at least, I felt truly horrific. The scenes unfolding before me were not for light hearts (or weak stomach) they are descriptive and spine-chilling. I see all of this as a huge compliment to the authors writing and massive talent and creativity.

So, more about this piece of artwork! This is a dystopian series that takes place in the future. This future is not pleasant to say the least, it is controlled by a viciously hateful man they call "The Commander". He believes that the world went to hell because of sinners and the only way for redemption is through retribution. His retribution is sending them to a deplorably lethal place called the Hole, but only after he has depraved them of everything, including there dignity. He Physically Brands them so that the world can identify their sin. There isn't a judicial system, just him, and if he believes you have committed one of the seven deadly sin you are sent to the hole with no hopes of survival, for it is dangerous, destitute and diseased. This is where the world starts for Lexi, she is shoved into a scary world with one guard and his dog, does she survive? Well, you have to read the book to see!

Overall my book friends, you have to give this book a chance! It's truly epic. Brand starts out
electric, waiting for nothing and no one, never slowing, so hold on and enjoy the ride!

Oh and PS- Awesome romance!

View all my reviews

Sunday, May 18, 2014

The Legend of the Blue Eyes (Blue Eyes Trilogy, #1) by B. Kristin McMichael

The Legend of the Blue Eyes (Blue Eyes Trilogy, #1)The Legend of the Blue Eyes by B. Kristin McMichael
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

**I received this book for a honest review**

What a cool twist on the vampire world. It was a unique and interesting story.

B. Kristin McMichael did a fabulous job creating a intricate and unique world filled with inviting characters and an elegant but mysterious plot. 'The legend of The Blue Eyes' was a quick and fun read with a new world for my imagination to dive into.

Arianna's an orphan who was raised by her mothers best-friend and her brother in a small ordinary lifestyle, at the request of her Grandfather (who she doesn't know about) who is eager for her to join the folds of her expected life. She is expected to change everything. The plot is easy to follow and though Arianna has her moments, she is an eccentric and average 16 year-old character. Her life is about to drastically change for the better and maybe for the worse.

Honestly this was a good book and breezy story, but I had a hard time connecting to the MC, it wasn't until about half way through that I was really into the story and her new life filled with mystery and drama. She is well received by almost all the male characters in this story (and so flipp'n fast) which is a little annoying and weird, but still the overall romance aspect wasn't horrible.

Once you get past the life altering changes to her body and life, the constant infatuation by everyone both good and bad and the moments you want to scream at MC to grow up, you notice the plot thickens and develops very subtly.

Be warned you will want to read the second book if you read this one, not just because of the ending but also the lack of pieces of the puzzle put forth in this story alone, for example the legend, what it really is and means as well as where it will bring this world in aspect of following books.

But overall, a fun read with a new and fresh take for the vampire lovers out there!

View all my reviews

Saturday, May 17, 2014

Talented (Talented Saga, #1)Talented by Sophie Davis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

**This book was given to me for an honest review**

Oh, wow! I'm still reeling from this phenomenal and stunning story! Seriously people I am in complete fan girl mode! Where the heck has this masterpiece been hiding?!?! OMG,OMG,OMG,OMG,OMG!!!! I think I'm good now, no more fan girling! So, this is a fearsome, awe-inspiring, breath taking book. It literally has everything in it you could possibly crave. Sophie Davis paints a beautiful and tragic world, with such descriptive and poetic writing you can't help but feel the pull of the story. The characters are well rounded with normal deficiencies and amazing attributes. Truly stunning story!

It starts off by explaining the world and how it has been turned upside-down, flipped and twisted by nuclear weapons hidden in the earth. The spread effects the whole world, the ocean, animals and eventually the people making children come to the world with deformities and amazing abilities. As time goes on these wane and drift but the "talented" remain, and are chosen to fight for the government.
The main character Talia, is one of the effected humans and has gifts of her own. She is an amazing talented lead character who faces so many trail and tribulations in her short life, that you wonder how she has survived. The answer is revenge. She joins the "Hunters" to avenge her past and grow her future.

Talia is not alone in this tremendous world Sophie painted for you, she has her friends and handsome side kicks. My favorite among them is our dashing and witty heart breaker Erik, who was a huge part of why I fell so fast for 'Talented'.
Talia's journey with her friends Erik, Henri, Donovan and little Penelope is provocative, thrilling, funny, heart wrenching and riveting.

This book will have you in craze, waiting to find out what happens next with the plot twist and constant adventures. I loved it and truly can't wait to dig into the series, I absolutely recommend it to everyone and anyone. But especially those of you looking for a fun read with romance, adventure, mystery and a beautiful dystopian world ready for you to join! Enjoy!

Enjoy this book! I know I did!

You can also find my reviews at Heaven to Earth Reviews

View all my reviews
Nihal of the Land of the WindNihal of the Land of the Wind by Licia Troisi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What a surprising story, and fun read. This book surprised me, based on the blurb and the breath taking cover I had assumed this book was YA, and though parts are it's more middle school reading material. Licia Troisi is poetic in this book painting an amazing picture for her readers.

There are oddles of great characters but I admit I enjoyed and loved Nihal. Nihal is spunky and fierce which is a wonderful treat because it's not too action filled or adventure ridden, it has balance between a sweet story filled with magic and self-questing but has the fireworks to keep you lit up with intrigue. The main character is 13 years old, a little sword master and full of life and purpose.

Nihal of the Land of The Wind is a fun, quick and intriguing read. This is a wonderful story for fans of Fantasy worlds, and wonderful female lead hero's. If your like me a predominantly read New Adult and YA high school era then this book might be a little different than what your used to, but its still a great book and I hope you give it a go.

***I received a copy via NetGalley from the publisher for an honest review.***

View all my reviews

Friday, May 16, 2014

Ever Shade (A Dark Faerie Tale, #1)Ever Shade by Alexia Purdy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Reading a book to review for authors can be difficult, because you want so badly to write something great about their artistry and hard work. Fortunately I get to say positive things about this story, but I have to admit for the first maybe 6 chapters I was worried. I felt the characters depth wasn't what it should be and the story was a little simple for a title like "A Dark Faerie Tale", but amazingly it took a turn and eventually sucked me into the story.

I will without a doubt be sticking with the series, and I recommend this book with absolution. When you first start if you share my unease, just keep with it, you will be rewarded with a compelling and lovely story.

Once you get used to the writing and characters around chapter 8 you get sucked into Shade's world and fall for all the different personalities you meet. I know for me the biggest twists and turns would have been the romance aspects. It felt a little rushed, but then again this is huge trial and tribulation for Shade and high emotions can create strong ones, so it was believable. Also the amount of potential suitors is a bit of a wonder, but still it added to the story nicely.

Ever Shade will keep you guessing during the whole story and by the end you will wonder what is in store for this new and exciting series, and hopefully like me will continue on with it to watch it and the characters grow.

Overall laddies and gents, if you are looking for love, mystery, magic and adventure then I absolutely recommend this for you. I hope you enjoy!

View all my reviews

Sunday, February 23, 2014

Changers Book One: DrewChangers Book One: Drew by T Cooper
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads, this ARC was provided by the Authors for an honest review.

This was such a moving story! A story that was nearly impossible to put down. When I read the blurb, I’m not going to lie I was a little nervous, plus I’m a cover junkie and this one didn’t give much away, but boy howdy was I wrong. It was a captivating and thoughtful book that brought new perspective to even my eyes, and I’m a girl. The story took my breath away! I was high on the emotional roller coast and amazing world the author’s portrayed, a truly impressive job.

Ethan Miller’s a freshman with an astounding surprise when he wakes up on his first day of school, he’s a changer…. Surprise! When our young Ethan wakes up he is no longer the young skater boy who is disgruntled by the sudden move his parents forced him to make he is now a she, Drew to be precise. And Drew is about to enter the world of changers, young adults who change bodies every year of high school, to learn empathy and change the world. This story is brimming with so much emotion and allows you to join Drew in her adventure to help preserve her race as well as learn what “to walk a mile in their shoes” really means.

This is a transcendent book and I absolutely recommend it, I’m half tempted to bribe my husband to read it because I know anyone who reads Changers will find it profound and beautiful as I did, plus he might appreciate women and what we endure on a regular basis, lol. Honestly give it a try guys, you won’t regret it.

View all my reviews

Friday, January 31, 2014

How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf (Naked Werewolf, #1)How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What a fun story, it was a quick and easy read for me with lot's of laugh out loud moments. It wasn't the normal passion, angst impending doom looming everywhere normal book I tend to fall into, and for that I'm thankful. I needed a good, quick pick me up. With a great dialog and spunky characters it was a great change of pace, but I am ready for a more challenging read with a more passionate story line and maybe even a little more depth. BUT this was the perfect buffer :)

This is my first Molly Harper book and I have to admit the lithe and easy plot was nice, like a glass of water on a warm day, not a glass of sweating lemonade in a heat wave, but still subtle and comfortable.
It was sweet, funny and sometimes a bit eccentric, but really a easy going plot. A fun love story than you see from a mile away, but it's ok because it was still yummy. The private moments (smexy time) wasn't over whelming or all consuming which was a nice change of pace in the adult paranormal world.

Connor is a ruff, sexy mans man and completely blush worth while Mo is a feisty life infused character with a great sense of humor and will have you chuckling, giggling and out right laughing along with her dialog.

A story well, done I recommend this if you want something soft (not young adult though) that flows. Just a easy going read to relieve us from all the intense stories we often find in most genres now.

View all my reviews

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wowzer! Not disappointed in the least! Great book! Review to come!

Holy hell talk about ecstasy! This book was stuffed full with passion and angst. I ENJOYED & HATED this book. Frustrated overwhelmed me at time, I felt myself saying ‘come on and do the dirty already’ And holy cow, when they finally do **fans herself** brace yourself laddies, lots of emotion and passion in this story.

The hate goes more with the ending and the fact that Cat can't get past being half vampire. He constant inner dialog with accepting who she is and how Bones feels about her is exhausting sometimes. I kept screaming 'if you don't want him, give him to me!' then had to remind myself 'just a story Alex, just a story' but make no mistake, Bones is the perfect fantasy. He had me giggling, blushing and down right fanning myself.

If you are looking for a story pact with heat, almost electrifying and romance with so much passion you feel like shaking your fist at god for not sending you your own Bones then this is the story for you.

I always know when I read a truly awesome love story because I always storm into my husbands office or personal space and practically scream 'why can't you be more like (insert lovers name here)' and then huff and storm away. Though he has grown used to this behavior and often Google's who he should emulate for that week, I know that the story is amaze balls! This is one of those stories... I think my hubby is on Google now hehehe.

Give it a try ya'll!

View all my reviews
Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #2)Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

LOVE, LOVE, LOVVVEEE this series! Review to come. A must read! The first book is AMAZING! This one not quite as good as the first but still amazing and my favorite series of the new year!

Attractive, beautiful, culminating, paradisiac, out-of-this-world and poetic. I loved this book, and I love this series! Even with all the beauty this book is bursting with, it still has the longing and primitive story it always carries. The dark and twisty moments still covered with love and passion. Not at all disappointing.

So often sequels dull and dim in comparison to a first book, especially when the first was as epic as the beginning to this series. That is definitely not the case with this book. It is filled with every emotion the good and the bad, this book forces you to feel everything. The world is painted to artistically you can taste and smell it. I love the writing, its poetic and flows seamlessly.

The war, avengement and savagery in this story that you're flipping through the pages with vengeance. It was literally impossible for me to remove myself from the story. The book was filled with action and mystery and kept you begging for more and wishing it would never end. I can't even write this review, I don't know how to explain adequately the amazing magnitude of this series and this book.

I truly hope everyone gives this series a try, I know I'm glad I did.

View all my reviews

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

WOW!! OMG I loved this book, I literally can't even believe how surprised by this book I was! Review to come!! MUST HAVE SECOND BOOK!!

Finally have a second to breath and catch up on reviews!
For starters I loved this book! Not at all what I was expecting and the description, cover and title doesn't do it justice! I adored Laini's writing and found it poetic and peaceful, though the plot was anything but.

I try try to never make my reviews like a blurb on the book, just the nitty gritty 411 on the book, so with that being said, READ THIS.
The main character is easy to follow and she has the perfect amount of strength and vulnerability to make her the perfect heroin, but my favorite character is her best friend Zuzana. All the characters were amazing though and the love story was perfect, and the ending, omg can you say cliff hanger! So glad I had the second one ready to go :)

This is a story filled with everything, all emotions. You want a fun read with plenty of laugh out loud moments? Then read this! You want a book with a little morbidity and plenty of action and adventure? Then read this! You want a book filled with poetic descriptions that read like silk? Then READ THE BOOK! Seriously just try it!

A warning the first couple chapters you feel like you are missing parts or a previous book, but just stick with it everything unfolds perfectly!


View all my reviews
Sentinel (Covenant, #5)Sentinel by Jennifer L. Armentrout
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fan girl mode! OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! LOVED IT!!!

Okay slightly calmer and remote coherency acquired to formulate a review.

Wow! From the beginning I was sucked in, and I have to admit there was a semi long break in between the books, and still I saw the whole series in my mind embedded together like I was really there! I love this series and can’t believe it’s over! Some would say this book wasn't great and the ending was horrible and I would argue against that point voraciously, because I felt of all the potential endings this one was perfection! I ugly cried, laughed out loud, had slight heart palpitations and literally screamed with both joy and frustrations on more that one occasion! So much passion and emotion was thrown into this story you almost feel high on life when it ends, until you remember this is it. No more roller-coaster ride.
I am going to miss Aiden and Seth and bad-ass Alex, I'm going to have withdrawal from all the twists and turns in their unique and original adventure created by Jennifer L. Armentrout, this world was amazing and captivating, I can’t wait to see what she does next!
But more about this book, I saw so many mixed reviews I actually put it off, especially after my treacherous divergent calamity. But alas this was a perfect end to the series. Alex (Main Character) continued to grow into the strong heroine she has always been, and Aiden *swoon* still had butterflies flapping away in my tummy! Oh! And Seth and Apollo! I love the dynamics in this last story and the dialog was not lacking in the least. If you are nervous like I was that the book might not offer you the closure you so deserve after falling so hard for these enslaving characters and story worry not, this book will not let you down.
The love story continues, and so do the trials and tribulations of saving the world, with the help of the god’s you even get some one on one time with Athena.
Mostly I just missed reading a book that literally had every emotion and action enclosed, this book didn't fail to deliver. You have heart racing romance, fear, mystery, heart wrenching sadness and overcoming happiness. It’s packed with action and adventure and twists and turns you wouldn't see coming, but once you do think “hell yeah”.
Over all amazing, fantastic, perfection, divine and mesmerizing story and anyone who is thinking about reading this series need to get on it.. Like now! It’s totally worth it!

View all my reviews